The Ghostly Advent Calendar: 10th December – Christopher Lee’s heavy metal carols

10

Today’s advent calendar post has really written itself. There’s very little more I need to add to the headline in Blabbermouth:

Legendary Actor CHRISTOPHER LEE Releases New Heavy Metal Single ‘Darkest Carols, Faithful Sing’

Lee describes this – presumably with his elegant tongue wedged firmly in his cadaverous cheek –  as “light-hearted, joyful and fun. It’s a band singing on how metal should be played, the effect it has on the band and its listeners.”

More poignantly, he then goes on to say “at my age, the most important thing for me is to keep active by doing things that I truly enjoy. I do not know how long I am going to be around, so every day is a celebration and I want to share it with my fans.”

How I missed this exciting development in Lee’s artistic journey is beyond me. Turns out he’s been releasing metal albums at Christmas for the last four years. I think my favourite fact that I’ve discovered while researching his impressive back catalogue is that he once recorded a symphonic metal project called ‘Charlemagne: By the Sword and the Cross’. This has tickled me enormously, as it has all the faux grandeur and pomposity of Spinal Tap’s epic folly ‘Stonehenge’, written by Nigel Tufnel after a bad dish of Indian food got him a seat “on the porcelain bus” and gave him strange dreams (thanks to Spinal Tap A-Z for that nugget).

christopher lee

Enjoy Christopher Lee’s metal odyssey, in all its surreal glory. For me, he’ll always be the Ultimate Dracula, so it’s fitting that he’s adding a bit of bite to the festive season.

Categories: Music

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

